Phoenix Voters To Fill 2 City Council Seats In Runoff Election

By Christina Estes
Published: Tuesday, May 21, 2019 - 8:55am
Updated: Tuesday, May 21, 2019 - 8:59am

district 5 ballot with candidate names
Christina Estes/KJZZ
May 21, 2019, runoff election ballot for Phoenix City Council District 5 in Phoenix.

Phoenix could have two new City Council members Tuesday night. The seats in Districts 5 and 8 became vacant after Daniel Valenzuela and Kate Gallego left to run for mayor.

Residents in District 5, which includes much of west Phoenix, will choose between Betty Guardado and Vania Guevara. The winner will serve the remainder of a term that expires April 19, 2021.

Residents in District 8, which includes parts of downtown, south Phoenix and Laveen, will choose between Carlos Garcia and Michael Johnson. The winner will serve the remainder of a term that expires April 17, 2023.

→ Hear From Phoenix City Council District 5, District 8 Candidates

Tuesday’s election is a runoff between the top two vote-getters in each district from the March 12 special election which included the mayoral race. The March election included 13,889 total votes cast in District 5. Of those, 13,068 were split among four council candidates. In District 8, there were 15,712 total votes cast. Of those, 14,843 were split among seven candidates.

Registered voters in Council Districts 5 and 8 can use any of the 11 voting centers to cast a ballot from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, May 21. This map contains a list of voting centers.

One Source, My Connection!